Student of the Year

Welcome to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's 


Congratulations to our top fundraiser Nima Fallahi, the 2014 Student of the Year Charlie Jones, and 2nd Runner Up Margaret Capizzi of Team Truax!


We'd also like to give special recognition to our three 2014 Citizenship Award winners:

Margaret Capizzi - Community Involvement Award

Caroline Fox - Volunteerism Award

Mackenzie Hickey - Mission Award

And, of course, congratulations to ALL of our Student of the Year Candidates!

Together they raised a total of over $386,000 in just 6 short weeks!

Hanna Addis, Thomas S. Wootton High School
Leah Barteldes, Academy of the Holy Cross
Taylor Bayat and Team Cheer, Broadneck High School
Margaret Louisa Capizzi, Academy of the Holy Cross
Shannon Darroch, Chantilly High School
Nima Fallahi, St. Johns College High School
Caroline Fox, Holton-Arms School
Samantha Heavner, Academy of the Holy Cross
Mackenzie Hickey, Connelly School of the Holy Child
Charlie Jones, Georgetown Preparatory School
Ideen and Arian Modarres, Churchill High School
Amir Saman Nasserghodsi, Thomas S. Wootton High School
Aaliyah Polite, Suitland High School
Hayley Roy, Washington & Lee High School
Sloane Tucker, Langley High School
Carly Westermann, McLean High School

For more information on the Student of the Year Campaign, or if you are interested in becoming a candiate in 2015, please contact Briana Walsh at 703-399-2930 or

WHO: High school students who are enthusiastic about volunteerism, philanthropy, leadership, and community involvement. Students are encouraged to submit the Student of the Year Application. Student candidates will be selected via nominating committee.

WHAT: Six-week fundraising campaign starting January 16, 2014 and ending February 28, 2014 to benefit the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's (LLS) National Capital Area Chapter. Students are asked to take on the challenge of raising a minimum of $10,000 and join the fight against blood cancer. 

WHY: To raise awareness and funds for the mission of the LLS. Students will be eligible for multiple scholarships, with the winning student receiving a $5,000 scholarship to the school or university of their choice.

Thank you to our Presenting Sponsor!

Media Sponsor

For more information on Student of the Year, contact Ria Freydberg at or 703-399-2938

Applications can be emailed to the above or faxed to 703-399-2901

For more information on LLS, visit

1.8.12 (4193-201404231233)